ARTFORUM

April 05, 2018 at 8:56am

GUGGENHEIM FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES 2018 FELLOWS

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced that it is awarding 173 fellowships, including two joint fellowships, to a group of scholars, artists, and scientists. The recipients were chosen from a pool of 3,000 applicants and were selected based on their prior achievements and potential to make significant contributions to their fields.

Among the recipients from the cultural sector are Nora Chipaumire and Jen Rosenblit in the category of choreography; David Maisel and Hank Willis Thomas for photography; and Dave Hullfish Bailey, Amy Feldman, Kate Gilmore, and David Schutter for fine arts.

"It's exceptionally satisfying to name 175 new Guggenheim Fellows. These artists and writers, scholars and scientists, represent the best of the best," <u>Edward Hirsch</u>, president of the Foundation, said. "Each year since 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation has bet everything on the individual, and we're thrilled to continue to do so with this wonderfully talented and diverse group. It's an honor to be able to support these individuals to do the work they were meant to do."

Since its establishment in 1925, the Foundation has granted more than \$360 million in Fellowships to over 18,000 individuals. This year's fellows hail from forty-nine scholarly disciplines and artistic fields, sixty-nine different academic institutions, thirty-one states, and three Canadian provinces, and they range in age from twenty-nine to eighty. The complete list of fellows is as follows:

NATURAL SCIENCES

Applied Mathematics: Edriss S. Titi Astronomy–Astrophysics: Shri Kulkarni

Chemistry: Will Dichtel Christy L. Haynes

Computer Science: Ariel D. Procaccia

Earth Science: Alexey Fedorov

Engineering: Arup K. Chakraborty

Mathematics: Moon Duchin

Medicine & Health: Charles L. Bosk Carl Elliott

Molecular & Cellular Biology: Antonis Rokas

Neuroscience: Aniruddh D. Patel

Organismic Biology & Ecology: Robert B. Jackson Anne D. Yoder

Physics: Lisa Randall Michael T. Woodside

SOCIAL SCIENCES

Anthropology & Cultural Studies: Sienna R. Craig Stefan Helmreich Sabine Hyland

Constitutional Studies: Carol Anderson

Geography & Environmental Studies: Jesse Ribot

Law: Jessica Silbey

Political Science: Peter A. Hall Vivien A. Schmidt

Psychology: Fei Xu

Sociology: Christopher A. Bail Robert J. Sampson

HUMANITIES

African Studies: Nancy Rose Hunt

Architecture, Planning, & Design: Edward Dimendberg Charlie Hailey Classics: Alain Bresson Brooke Holmes

Dance Studies: Mark Franko

East Asian Studies: Martin Kern Wai-yee Li Nicolas Tackett

English Literature: Devoney Looser

European & Latin American History: Rita Chin Ada Ferrer Paul Friedland Joel F. Harrington Thomas Miller Klubock Edward Wright-Rios

European & Latin American Literature: Eleanor Kaufman

Film, Video, & New Media Studies: Alison Griffiths

Fine Arts Research: Jean Campbell Branden W. Joseph

History of Science, Technology, & Economics: Joyce E. Chaplin Erik M. Conway Robert G. Morrison Thomas S. Mullaney Naomi Oreskes Ekaterina Pravilova

Intellectual & Cultural History: Irena Grudzińska Gross Saidiya Hartman Scott Johnson Marci Shore Stefania Tutino

Linguistics: Lenore A. Grenoble Charles Yang

Literary Criticism: Anna Brickhouse Theo Davis Martin Hägglund Shari Huhndorf

Medieval & Renaissance Literature: Stratis Papaioannou Michelle R. Warren

Music Research: David Yearsley

Philosophy: Sally Haslanger John Heil

Religion: Bart D. Ehrman Nile Green Jeremy Schipper

South Asian Studies: Christian Lee Novetzke Archana Venkatesan

Translation: Esther Allen

US History: Kathleen DuVal Aaron Spencer Fogleman Martha Hodes

CREATIVE ARTS

Choreography: Nora Chipaumire John Heginbotham Heather Kravas Aparna Ramaswamy Ranee Ramaswamy Jen Rosenblit Kota Yamazaki

Drama & Performance Art: Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas Annie Dorsen Robin Frohardt Dohee Lee David Levine

Fiction: Rachel Cusk Andrew Sean Greer

Lauren Groff Jennifer Haigh Min Jin Lee China Miéville Deb Olin Unferth Film-Video: Gina Petra Abatemarco Marsia Alexander-Clarke Peter Burr William D. Caballero Alexandra Cuesta **Carol Dysinger** Eliza Hittman Shevaun Mizrahi Nicolás Pereda Lee Anne Schmitt Parvez Sharma Nandini Sikand **Brett Story** Fine Arts: **Dennis Adams** Mequitta Ahuja Dave Hullfish Bailey Janet Biggs Phillip Chen Julia Christensen Esperanza Cortés **Craig Drennen** Amy Feldman **Richard Fleischner** Kate Gilmore

Todd Gray

Hiroyuki Hamada

Dave Hardy Stephen Hayes Lies Kraal Elizabeth LaPensée Chris Larson Robert L. Lobe Nicole Miller Amy Pleasant Annabeth Rosen Margo Sawyer **David Schutter** Charles Yuen General Nonfiction: Nicholson Baker Teju Cole **Robert Finch** Roxane Gay Jane Kamensky John Jeremiah Sullivan Lily Tuck Music Composition: Eugene Birman Du Yun Michael Harrison **Edward Jacobs** Tonia Ko Eric Lyon Farangis Nurulla Yoshiaki Onishi Mika Pelo **Felipe Salles** Carl Schimmel

Anna Webber

Photography: Tsar Fedorsky Lukas Felzmann Anthony Hernandez David Maisel Pradip Malde Rania Matar Nicholas Muellner Kristine Potter Meghann Riepenhoff Nadia Sablin Hank Willis Thomas Ian van Coller

Poetry: Reginald Dwayne Betts Amy Gerstler Tyehimba Jess