## ARTNEWS

## Here's the Artist List for the 2019 Havana Biennial

BY <u>Maximilíano Durón</u> POSTED 03/19/19 12:33 PM

COURTESY ARTEMPOCUBA

The organizers of the Havana Biennial have released the names of the 83 artists and collectives that will participate in the main exhibition of the show's 13th edition, which runs from April 12 to May 12 in Cuba.

The participating artists hail from over 45 countries around the world, with a large portion coming from islands in the Caribbean and other nations in Latin America. Seventeen artists are from Cuba.



The exhibition, which is staged at

the Centro de Arte Contemporáneo Wifredo Lam, is titled "The construction of the possible" and aims to continue its founding principles of equality and justice, "taking into account the conditions of a world in which nuclear and war-mongering threats, xenophobia, racism, forced displacement, fascist tendencies, violence against those who are different, ethnic-cultural conflicts, inequality, terrorism, the systematic use of lies have intensified, and an environmental crisis that threatens the survival of the human species itself," according to exhibition materials.

This year's biennial, which was originally scheduled to open last November but was delayed because of the impact of Hurricane Irma in 2017, has already been highly contested by local artists. The passage of <a href="Decree 349">Decree 349</a>, a law that allows the Cuban government to control what art gets exhibited where in the country, has caused activists in the country to decry the biennial, since the rules would predetermine which artists from the country would be allowed in the show. Last month, artists Luis Manuel Otero Alcántara and Yanelys Nuñez Leyva, who organized an

alternative biennial called #ooBienal last year, urged participants in the Havana Biennial to stand against the decree.

The full artist list for the Havana Biennial follows below.

Laeïla Adjovi and Loïc Hoquet (Benin, France)

Ravi Agarwal (India)

Ibrahim Ahmed (Egypt)

Leila Alaoui (Morocco/France)

Esther Aldaz (Spain)

Juan Carlos Alom (Cuba)

Narda Alvarado (Bolivia)

David Beltrán (Cuba)

Marcos Benítez (Paraguay)

Isak Berbic (Bosnia)

Nathalie Anguezomo Mba Bikoro (Gabon)

Jose Braithwaite (Panama)

Alejandro Campins (Cuba)

Tamara Campo (Cuba)

Ruy Cézar Campos (Brazil)

Tania Candiani (Mexico)

Richard-Viktor Sainsily Cayol (Guadeloupe)

Colectivo el puente lab: Juan Esteban Sandoval and Alejandro Vásquez Salinas +

Mariangela Aponte Nuñez (Colombia)

Nicolás Consuegra (Colombia)

Max de Esteban (Spain)

Marianne Fahmy (Egypt)

Oscar Figueroa (Cuba)

Adonis Flores (Cuba)

Fernando Foglino (Uruguay)

José Manuel Fors (Cuba)

Ana Gallardo (Argentina)

Rocío García (Cuba)

Luis Gárciga and C.A.S.I.T.A. (Cuba)

Ghazel (Iran)

Dania González Sanabria (Cuba)

Adler Guerrier (Haiti)

Manaf Halbouni (Syria/Germany)

Katsuhiko Hibino (Japan)

Javier Hinojosa (Mexico)

Karlo Andrei Ibarra (Puerto Rico)

Geraldine Javier (Philippines)

Reena Saini Kallat (India)

Tellervo Kalleinen and Oliver Kochta Kalleinen (Finland)

Jackie Karuti (Kenya)

Clemens Krauss (Austria)

Abdoulaye Konaté (Mali)

Mehdi-Georges Lahlou (Morocco/France)

Oscar Leone (Colombia)

Kadir López (Cuba)

Matilde Marín (Argentina)

Frank Martínez (Cuba)

Maurice Mbikayi (Democratic Republic of the Congo)

Jorge Méndez Blake (Mexico)

Manuel Mendive (Cuba)

Ryan Mendoza (Germany)

Théo Mercier (France)

José Manuel Mesías (Cuba)

Alexia Miranda (El Salvador)

Asunción Molinos (Spain)

Lais Myrrha (Brazil)

Moataz Nasr (Egypt)

Cheikh Ndiaye (Senegal)

Tejuoso Olanrewaju (Nigeria)

Charo Oquet (Dominican Republic)

Romina Orazi (Argentina)

Donato Piccolo (Italy)

Sara Ramo (Brazil)

Hans Hamid Rasmussen (Algeria/Norway)

Pedro Cabrita Reis (Portugal)

Lourdes de la Riva (Guatemala)

René Francisco Rodríguez (Cuba)

Natalia Rondón (Venezuela)

Semilleros (Chile)

Mary Sibande (South Africa)

Ela Spalding (Panama)

Sun Xun (China)

Tadasu Takamine (Japan)

Taller de Arte y Experiencia (Cuba)

Yves Trémorin (France)

TRES (Mexico)

Dayana Trigo (Cuba)

Emmanuel Tussore (France)

José Villa (Cuba)

Maya Watanabe (Peru)

Alydia Wever (Aruba)

Alberta Whittle (Barbados)

Guy Woueté (Cameroon)

Camilo Yáñez (Chile)