ARTNEWS

Creative Capital Names Winners of 2019 Awards

BY Alex Greenberger POSTED 01/15/19 12:00 PM

2019 Creative Capital Awards



COURTESY CREATIVE CAPITAL

Creative Capital in New York has announced the recipients of its 2019 awards, which are being given to 50 projects by 58 artists. Each winning project will receive as much as \$50,000 in funding, as well as \$50,000 for career development services. The organization is awarding more than \$5 million this year to these projects.

Winners include critic Johanna Fateman, whose book *Amerikan Woman* focuses loosely on the theorist and activist Andrea Dworkin, and Ja'Tovia Gary, whose film *The Evidence of Things Not Seen* focuses on trauma transmitted across generations of African-Americans.

The panel that selected the winners included artists Heather Dewey-Hagborg and Jillian Mayer; E. Carmen Ramos, the deputy chief curator of the Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington, D.C.; and Rasu Jilani, the director of strategic partnerships at NEW Inc., among others.

Suzy Delvalle, Creative Capital's executive director and president, said in a statement, "The 2019 class of Creative Capital Awardees is a window into some of the most innovative, exciting, and powerful work being undertaken today. We cannot wait to see how these projects develop, and how this incredible community of artists grows together and evolves."

The list of artists receiving awards follows below. Full descriptions of the winning projects can be found on <u>Creative Capital's website</u>.

niv Acosta

Polly Apfelbaum

Brandon Ballengée

Lisa Bates & Sharita Towne

Bahar Behbahani

Garrett Bradley

Charlotte Brathwaite

CAConrad

Todd Chandler

S. Leo Chiang

Nathaniel Corum & Joseph Kunkel

Ramona Diaz

Stephanie Dinkins

Laura Doggett

Caleb Duarte

Alejandro Durán

Larissa FastHorse

Johanna Fateman

Paul Flores, Rosalba Rolón & Yosvany Terry

Ja'Tovia Gary

Allison Janae Hamilton

Michelle Handelman

Dee Hibbert-Jones & Nomi Talisman

Wes Hurley

Ekene Ijeoma

Raja Feather Kelly

Daresha Kvi

Kia LaBeija & Taina Larot

Jen Liu

MAOF

Lauren McCarthy

Maaza Mengiste

Elissa Blount Moorhead

Meshelle Ndegeocello

Alison O'Daniel

Linda Parris-Bailey

Victor Payan & Pocha Peña

Samora Abayomi Pinderhughes

Michael Premo

Kathryn Ramey

Martha Redbone & Aaron Whitby

Alan Ruiz

Alice Sheppard

Karina Aguilera Skvirsky

Michèle Stephenson

Leslie Tai

Cristal Chanelle Truscott

Shontina Vernon

Elissa Washuta

Ni'Ja Whitson