ARTFORUM



James Barnor, *Drum Cover Girl Marie Hallowi at Charing Cross Station, London*, 1966. Courtesy of Autograph ABP, London. December 11, 2019 at 11:29am

FOTOFEST BIENNIAL RELEASES 2020 ARTIST LIST

FotoFest has revealed the artists participating in its upcoming biennial, "African Cosmologies: Photography, Time, and the Other," taking place

in Houston from March 8 to April 19, 2020. Curated by Mark Sealy, director of the London-based photographic art institution Autograph ABP, the festival will examine the complex relationships between contemporary life in Africa, the African diaspora, and the global histories of colonialism, photography, and rights and representation, and will highlight artists who confront and challenge images of the Western canon.

"The impact and the gravitational pull of the contemporary African photographic artist on the universe of photography has resulted in photography's traditional epistemes—its deadly colonialities—being reluctantly dragged into processes of remaking, delinking, and rethinking the work of images in culture," said Sealy. "The artists presented in 'African Cosmologies: Photography, Time, and Other' are not simply reflective commentators, travelers, flaneurs, or self-appointed interpreters, rather they represent a commitment to human well-being and the production and sharing of new and old knowledges."

FotoFest is organizing a series of films and a symposium of panels and presentations from biennial artists and experts on contemporary and historic African history, diaspora, colonization, art, and photography in collaboration with the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston. More details about programming related to the festival will be announced in January 2020.

The list of participating artists is as follows:

Faisal Abdu'Allah (UK) Akinbode Akinbiyi (Nigeria/UK) Hélène A. Amouzou (Togo/Belgium) Sammy Baloji (Congo/Belgium) James Barnor (Ghana/UK) Bruno Boudjelal (France/Algeria) Edson Chagas (Angola) Ernest Cole (South Africa) Jamal Cyrus (US) Jean Depara (Angola/Congo) Laura El-Tantawy (Egypt/UK) Rotimi Fani-Kayode (Nigeria) Samuel Fosso (Cameroon/France) Eric Gyamfi (Ghana) Lyle Ashton Harris (US) Samson Kimbalu (Malawi/UK) leo with Shobun Balle (Brazil/US) Mónica de Miranda (Angola/Portugal) Santu Mofokeng (South Africa) Sethembile Msezane (South Africa) Zanele Muholi (South Africa) Aïda Muluneh (Ethiopia) Eustáquio Neves (Brazil) Nyaba L. Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso/France) Rosana Paulino (Brazil) Dawit L. Petros (Eritrea/US/Canada) Zina Saro-Wiwa (Nigeria/US) Aida Silvestri (Eritrea/UK) Lindokuhle Sobekwa (South Africa/US) Wilfred Ukpong (Nigeria/UK)